Monster Cupcakes


20131109-204606.jpg

It’s Halloween again and that means time for blood and all things gory. I was seriously planning to do some blood dripping cupcakes with knives and the works but after going through these suggestions with my soon-to-be-four-years-old niece, she settled for green and blue monsters. Only request? Teeth!

IMG_1273

As much as I love a good chocolate cake, I seem to be having WAY too much of that lately, though I’ve noted to myself next one I need to make with chocolate mint frosting. Recently had one for a friend’s bday from Seva and is was AMAZE BALLS. Loves.

IMG_1360

Back to topic. So, I went back to my tried-and-tested red velvet cake recipe but seriously with my new job and trying to also fit in my happy hours, yoga zen sessions as well as good ol’ family quality time, I’m all for altering recipes and just making them as simple as ever. My alterations below for a revised, super buttery, moist and irresistibly easy cake recipe:

Red Velvet Cupcakes
Makes 30 – 40 cupcakes depending on the size

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup margarine (you can substitute with butter or shortening)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cocoa powder
  • 1/2 ounce red gel icing coloring (or 2 ounces red water-based food coloring as per original recipe)
  • 2-1/2 cups cake flour
  • 1 cup 2% milk with 1 tablespoon vinegar (original recipe called for 1 cup buttermilk but it’s not something staple I have in my pantry!)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons baking powder (original recipe called for 1 teaspoon baking soda + 1 teaspoon vinegar. I realized at the last minute that I was out of baking soda! So I did the sub and omitted the extra vinegar below in the recipe with this substitution- it still came out great!)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In the bowl of a mixer, cream together the margarine, eggs and sugar.
  3. In a separate small bowl, mix together the cocoa and food coloring. Add the paste to the margarine mixture.
  4. Sift the flour and salt into the mixture. Start the mixer to blend and slowly add in the milk & vinegar/ buttermilk mixture. Then add the vanilla extract and baking powder.
  5. Pour the batter into 2 greased 9-inch cake pans. Bake for 30 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean. Let cool on a cooling rack. Invert the cakes from the pans.

IMG_1269IMG_1270

 I made these monsters out of ready-made fondant and just added gel food colouring for the shades of greens, blues and yellows. Piped on some buttercream frosting onto the cooled cupcakes and stuck these toppers on! Run wild with your imagination – we sure did!
IMG_1341
Leave a Reply

