Flourless Egg Tart = Revised Creme Brûlée :)


Image

I’m way to excited to be flying in 2 days to Hong Kong to visit my friends and family! Most of all, I miss my nieces soooo much! Seriously they grow up so fast, every time I miss them for a month or so, they just seem older!!

Also, I was doing some light cleaning and since I’ll be away for 3 weeks, that means time to clear things from the fridge that may go hulk on me during this time. The only things were a pint of whipping cream and eggs yolks. This seriously screams custard!!

When I was growing up, my mom would always make sure there was a steady supply of egg tarts around. My sisters and I loved them but for some reason we weren’t that fond of the pastry shell! So, we always ended up using a spoon to scoop out all the creamy goodness. My mom eventually found our “stash” of hidden empty tarts so she stopped bringing them home since it was such a waste. SIGH. That marked the end of our egg tart fest. 

Oddly enough, I ended up always avoiding egg tarts as I got older, mostly because I felt guilty wasting the shell in public (maybe I still had some in private hehehe). But today solved all my problems! This recipe produced such a creamy eggy texture, I went into custard heaven! I know, I know, they don’t look like the best round custards you normally see but I’m all about convenience and trust me, these tasted amazing!

Image

Egg Tart Custard (recipe adapted from www.cbc.ca)
Recipe makes 8 (if using ramekins) or 16 if using muffin tins! FYI: I quartered the recipe so you that I could eat it all by today 🙂

Ingredients:
– 3 cups (750mL) whipping cream
– 8 egg yolks, room temperature
– 1/3 cup (75mL) granulated sugar
– 1 1/2 tsp (7 mL) vanilla

Directions:
1. In a saucepan, heat cream over medium-high heat until steaming.
2. In a bowl, whisk egg yolks with granulated sugar and vanilla. Gradually whisk in the cream. Slowly is good to ensure that you don’t cook the yolks!
3. Fill ramekins, place into a shallow pan and pour in enough boiling water to come halfway up the ramekins. I don’t have those, so instead, I used my disposable muffin tins and cut them into twos. Then I filled my bread loaf tin with boiling water and places my tins inside!
4. Bake in 350°F (180°C) oven for 30 minutes or until edge is set but centre still jiggles and knife inserted in centre comes out creamy. Remove from water; let cool on racks as it will solidify a bit.
5. You can either cover and refrigerate for about 2 hours or until chilled and set or as I did, I ate them as soon as they were cool enough to not burn my tongue!

Image

Leave a Reply

