C’est la vie ♥ French Baguette


I know, I know…I’m on a TOTAL bread making phase. Can’t help myself, but I’ve been going through these like a mad woman. I knew I’ve always loved bread but now I know I loooovvveeee homemade bread. Period.

I miss my girls in HK desperately and yes, even though Vancouver is lovely, and it is home, I can’t help but still feel like I’m settling in! Why? Well, there’s been all these wedding planning going on and our place isn’t ready until next May = lots and I mean lots of time for baking in the meantime.

I still think about the amazing trip in July to Paris with the ladies and although I cannot wait to everyone in December, I’m definitely craving those baguettes we had in the morning at Paul’s, even though most mornings was spent with baguette in paper bag, munching and speed-walking through the streets to shop 🙂

Here’s my first go at baking me a good loaf of French Baguette.

French Baguette (adapted from www.AllRecipes.com)

Ingredients:
– 2 1/2 cups bread flour (note: using all-purpose flour still turned out great!)
– 1 tablespoon white sugar
– 1 teaspoon salt
– 1 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast
– 1 cup water, warm

For Brushing Top:
– 1 egg yolk
– 1 tablespoon water

Directions:
1. Place all dry ingredients (i.e. flour, sugar, salt and yeast) into a large mixing bowl.
2. Create dam in middle and pour in warm water.
3. Using a dough hook (speed 2), mix until incorporated and mixture forms a dough. Then continue to mix for around 5 minutes (i.e. around 7 – 10 minutes if taking out, flouring clean surface and kneading by hand)
4. Grease a bowl and transfer dough and turn to coat with oil. Cling wrap it and put it in a damp place to rise.
5. Be patient- let is rise for around 1 hour (sometimes 30 minutes will do the trick) and it will have doubled in size. Dough is ready if indentation remains when touched.
6. Punch down dough. On a lightly floured surface, roll into a 16×12 inch rectangle. Cut dough in half, creating two 8×12 inch rectangles. Roll up each half of dough tightly, beginning at 12 inch side, pounding out any air bubbles as you go. Roll gently back and forth to taper end. Place 3 inches apart on a greased cookie sheet. Make deep diagonal slashes across loaves every 2 inches, or make one lengthwise slash on each loaf.
7. Cover again with cling wrap and let it rise in a warm place for 30 to 40 minutes, or until it has doubled again.
8. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
9. Mix egg yolk with 1 tablespoon water and brush over the tops of the loaves.
10. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Ok. Verdict? THIS IS FREAKING GOOD STUFF. Next time, I’ll alter it by adding olives 🙂

FYI Nutritional Info
Per Baguette (above recipe makes 2 large baguettes):
572.5 calories, 2g fat, 116g carbs, 20g protein, 5g fibre

Leave a Reply

