Flax Seed Lovin’: Flaxseed & Pumpkin Seed Bread


Image

Is it just me or is flax seed showing up EVERYWHERE? I used to always see low-fat or healthy on boxes and assume they are healthy, but now (thanks to my new KA mixer…) I’d much rather make my own and actually smell freshly baked bread in my oven and know that it’s preservatives-free 🙂

Image

I intend to keep this going as a trend and I must admit that shopping at grocery stores in the baked goods section has not been the same experience ever since I started baking my own breads! Now, I get inspiration from what I see that is good and try to find recipes and alter it to my liking. I love how I can add more honey if I want something sweeter or adjust the amounts and varieties of seeds, nuts and dried fruits that I want to incorporate into the bread. But beware: Once you start to get a hold of baking your own bread…you’ll never go back!

Image

Flax Seed and Pumpkin Seed Bread (adapted from www.RachelCooks.com)
Recipe makes one hearty loaf

Ingredients:
– 3 cups all-purpose flour
*original recipe called for bread flour mix with whole wheat flour but I found using all-purpose flour does an equally amazing job!
– 1 teaspoon salt
– 1 teaspoon instant dry yeast
– 1/4 cup flax seeds (amount can be adjusted to your liking)
– 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
– 1 1/3 cups of warm water
* Tip: I usually pour hot water, then add my margarine/butter straight from the fridge along with honey and stir so that it melts and the temperature of the water goes to warm 🙂
– 2 tablespoons unsalted margarine, softened
– 3 tablespoons honey
*if you have none on hand, you can use granulated sugar instead- just be sure to add it to the dry ingredients if you are, since honey will be added with the wet ingredients

Directions:
1. Put all dry ingredients (i.e. flour, salt, yeast, flax seed, pumpkin seeds) into a large mixing bowl.
2. Mix the water, margarine and honey together in a separate small bowl. Create a dam in the middle of the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients.
3. Start the mix the ingredients together (mix with your dough hook at speed 2 with your KA mixer) until it forms a dough. Feel free to add more flour if the dough is too wet or more water if there is still flour at the bottom of the mixing bowl.
4. Continue to knead on speed 2 for around 5 minutes (if you are making by hand, then flour a clean surface and knead for around 7 – 10 minutes).
5. Grease a bowl (I used canola oil since I personally found it rises faster than greasing with margarine) and transfer dough. Turn the dough to cover with oil then cover with cling wrap and let it rise for around 1 – 2 hours in a warm place (tip: for fastest rising, cover bowl with cling wrap and cover with dry kitchen towel and put into an unheated oven to rise).
6. After time to rise, the dough should have doubled in size.
7. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
8. Punch down (to let out the air), take it out and form into a loaf and place it into a greased loaf pan (tip: instead of kneading and rolling, I simply hold it in the air and stretch it into a long rectangle, then I roll it, tuck in the ends and place it in the greased loaf pan).
9. Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes.

Image

Eat hot fresh out of the oven as is or with filling as it makes a great sandwich bread. This bread keeps soft for at least 3 days (as there is no milk added to the recipe) and I’ve not had it left on the counter for more than 3 days time 🙂

ENJOY!

FYI Nutritional Info
Per Serving (based on 14 hearty sliced slices)
172.5 calories, 5.1g fat, 24.6g carb, 5.4g pro, 2.4g fibre

Image

Leave a Reply

