Happy Bday October Babies!!


Image

Seriously. October is like baby making season since 1 out of 3 people I know are born this month! Including my 3 close friends whose birthdays are freakishly lined up one after the other -.-”

Image

Since it’s been 3 years since I left Vancouver, I decided to make this celebration more special, I’d have to make a cake!! Vanilla and chocolate are both a bit predictable, I opted for a pecan cake with chocolate pudding filling (my cake instructor’s grandma’s choice filling!). The pink elephant topper is made from marshmallow fondant (recipe here!) 🙂

Image

I have to say I was slightly skeptical at first but I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! It will definitely be my go-to filling from now on since it oozed and seeped into the cake making it more moist than ever. It was not too sweet (as with most buttercream frosting fillings) and it was the perfect texture. And this new buttercream recipe is courtesy of my cake class and I love how the different textures make a different for the frosting and decorations aspect!

Classic Buttercream Icing: (source: Wilton Lesson 1 Book)
Makes 2 1/2 cups

Ingredients:
– 
1 cup solid white vegetable shortening
– 1 teaspoon almond extract or vanilla extract
– 7-8 teaspoons milk or water (milk makes for a creamier texture but water lasts longer! Up to 4 weeks refrigerated)
– 1 lb. icing sugar, sifted
– 1 tablespoon meringue powder
– Pinch of salt (i.e. 1/4 teaspoon)

Directions:
1. Cream shortening, flavoring and water/milk.
2. Add dry ingredients and mix on medium speed until all ingredients have been thoroughly mixed together. Blend an additional minute or so, or until creamy

* Above recipe makes a STIFF consistency icing which is good for piping flower decorations. Add 1 teaspoon of water for each cup of stiff consistency icing to make a MEDIUM consistency icing which is good for creating stars, dimensional decorating, borders and flowers with petals that lie flat. Add 2 teaspoon of water for each cup of stiff icing for THIN consistency icing which is perfect for icing a cake.

Image

HAPPY BDAY BESTIES ❤

Leave a Reply

