Congratulations C&J!! Project Wedding Cupcakes: Chocolate & Vanilla Coconut Bliss


Image

Project #2: Wedding Cupcakes!

So, if you’ve been following, I’ve said YES to baking some cupcakes for my sister’s wedding…so we’re talking around 90 – 100 cupcakes total and I couldn’t be happier to do so! Since her favorite flavor is all things choco, I’ve decided to go with half half along with traditional vanilla. I used simple cake mix due to the time limit and quantity so that I can save more time for the decorating bit (unfortunately..not that it’s anything bad but I always prefer to bake things from scratch!). I found these super cute pink striped cupcake liners from Martha Stewart and knew I had to keep the frosting simple and elegant in order to keep to a clean wedding theme.

Image

I made MANY times the vanilla buttercream recipe and added around 6 drops of green food coloring to achieve a pastel sea-foamy green which was the main theme color of the wedding.

Image

Using a star-shape head, I piped out little flowers resembling small bouquets around the cupcakes and building up to the middle to create a peak. Then to keep to a simple theme, I sprinkled on some shredded coconut to put it off. A short trip to Michaels Craft Store and I found myself coming out with an adorably sweet wedding cake topper that I used for the top of the cupcake stand.

Image

ImageJ

Although some cupcakes were ruined during the delivery stage, I’m so happy to have been able to (semi) pull this off and I can’t wait to do more projects like these!

Image

Leave a Reply

