Project Birthday Cake: Lemon-Blueberry Cake with Love :)


Image

So, I’ve finally had some time to post something! It’s been amazing so far for my trip back home to Vancouver although I’ve been waking up every morning at 6am to my niece singing the wheels on the bus go round and round…round and round…

BUT, I’m loving all these family gatherings and festivities and SO HAPPY to see all my good friends here! Seems baby season’s in the air 🙂

Image

I’ve done QUITE a bit of baking since I got here (I blame jet lag cravings!) so I’ve been juggling two projects at the moment: 100 cupcakes for my sister’s wedding tomorrow AND my guy’s birthday cake!

Image

PROJECT #1:

So, I asked him what his favorite desserts were and his response was lemon meringue pie and blueberry cheesecake. Since I was missing my mixer in HK, I knew the meringue option was out of the picture and I wanted to do a more traditional birthday cake than a cheesecake. Just so happens, it’s the perfect season for berries and I had loads of blueberries at home and plentiful lemons in stock. After searching around, I came across a recipe from twistedchef that I just could not resist! You may note that my latest baking projects are all FULL-FAT due to birthday boy’s request as well as the fact that I feel I’m on vacation mode at the moment so a girl’s gots to splurge a bit 🙂

Image

Lemon-Blueberry Birthday Cake:
Makes three 9” layers for the cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 cup plus 5 tablespoon flour
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen. I opted for fresh)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup butter (room temperature)
  • 1 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 4 large eggs

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray 3 x 9-inch round baking pans with non-stick spray (I just greased with softened butter) and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, combine the sour cream, buttermilk and lemon juice together. Set aside.
  4. Beat together (electric mixer definitely recommended but I mixed by hand which may cause the texture to be a bit chunkier than desired but it still came out great! Texture of the cake is not as light though) the butter, sugar and lemon zest until smooth texture, light & fluffy. Then add the eggs, one at a tie, beating after each addition, until they are fully combined (I like to mix with a fork and break the yolks in advance before adding as it incorporates better). Mix at medium-high speed if with electric mixer.
  5. Then add in flour mixture, alternating with the milk mixture (start and end with flour). Mix at low speed if with electric mixer. Once the flour has been completely incorporated, take 1/3 of the batter and pour into one of the cake pans.
  6. Fold in the blueberries into the remaining batter and then divide it equally among the other two cake pans.
  7. Bake for about 20 – 25 minutes. Make sure you do the tooth-pick test (i.e. it should come out clean).
  8. Allow to cool in the pans for 10 minutes and then invert the cakes and allow to cool completely on the racks. Then you’re ready to FROST!!

As for the frosting, I had limited options as my mixer is left at home so I pulled up my sleeves and rolled it old school style: by wooden spoon. My arms are sore as I’m typing this but I DID IT! Ahhh…so proud of myself for this morning workout = cake taste testing time!!

I used a simple vanilla buttercream frosting (recipe below) adding yellow food coloring (around 10 drops to achieve a soft golden-y yellow) and due to time constraints, I was unable to use my original plan of lemon curd filling. So instead, I used the same buttercream in between the layers as well as for the outside and top frosting of the cake. After frosting the entire cake, I did put it in the fridge to make sure everything is set for the piping part. I bought a piping kit since although my trustworthy ziplock bags have sufficed until now, I’m excited to try some decorating techniques and make some cuter shapes!

I also found some cute jungle animal figurines then popped the cake into a box and it made me proud 🙂

Image

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (sourced from food.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter (softened to room temperature)
  • 3 cups confectioner’s sugar (aka: icing sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, combine butter, sugar and salt. Beat until blended.
  2. Add the milk and vanilla and beat for an additional 3-5 minutes or until texture is smooth and creamy.
  3. Then add your desire food coloring of choice and mix together well.
  4. FROST AWAY!!

The best part? Sharing this with family AND everyone loved it!

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “Project Birthday Cake: Lemon-Blueberry Cake with Love :)

  1. I totally love that you used this recipe and that everyone loved it! YAY! I also love the fact that your guy’s favourite thing is lemon meringue pie! whoot whoot! The frosting and piping was beautiful!

Leave a Reply

